mlemmonsdesigns

Beautiful designs for adventurous knitters

What I’ve Been Up To May 9, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — mlemmonsdesigns @ 2:35 pm

I’ve been busy lately.

I organized my dpns and labeled them this time. Hopefully, this will mean that they won’t get so mixed up.

Image

The next time I make a needle roll, I’m going to have white or other light fabric along the pocket edges so that I can write the sizes on each pocket. I’ll also make sure that there is a pocket big enough for my needle gauge. Because I like small needles and there just isn’t much discernible difference between a 2.0 and 2.25mm needle and it’s easy to get them mixed up.

Taevin wanted to help with the stickers. I’m not sure how productive his help was. What do you think?

Image

I’ve also been working on incorporating traditional embroidery techniques into knitting. I had played around with drawn thread and huck embroidery when I was a kid, but hadn’t done much else with it since then. Then Math4knitters tweeted that Principals of Knitting by June Hemmons Hiatt mentions that drawn thread embroidery can be done on knitting. That set the wheels turning. How could I make this work? What type of designs would work best? Wouldn’t this be a perfect way to use up scraps of yarn? Then I saw a piece of huck embroidery aka Swedish weaving as the header on someone’s blog. So now I had to make that work with knitting too.

Here are some swatches of the drawn thread and huck embroidery. What do you think?

Image

Image

I’ve also finished up and blocked the Silver Bells and Cockle Shells shawls. The pattern is written and has been tested and tech edited. I need to finish my edits and get the photography done. Trying to juggle the schedules of three models, the photographer, myself, and the respective spouses so that they can watch the kids is hard. We were going to do it yesterday evening, but then it rained for two days straight and some of the kids were sick. I’m not sure when we’ll be able to reschedule. But the pattern will be up as soon as the photos are done. Until then, here is a sneak peek of the large knit in Marici by The Unique Sheep. Yes, I like big shawls.

Image

I’ve also been working on some super secret stuff that I’m really excited about. Stay tuned to see what it is…

 

One Response to “What I’ve Been Up To”

  1. Shawl is gorgeous.


Leave a Reply

