mlemmonsdesigns

Beautiful designs for adventurous knitters

Silver Bells and Cockle Shells Contest May 19, 2012

Mary, Mary, quite contrary, how does your garden grow?

With Silver Bells and Cockle Shells and merry maids in a row!

Silver Bells and Cockle Shells is my latest shawl pattern. The deep border on this crescent shaped shawl is adapted from an antique edging pattern. I love the complex flowers and fans which remind me of the nursery rhyme. An additional row of flowers are added for each size.

   

It comes with written and charted instructions for three sizes. This pattern is perfect for using with long striping yarns or Gradiance sets from The Unique Sheep. Instructions are provided for using a Gradiance set as well as for beading the fans of the border.

 

I am going to give away one copy of the pattern to a lucky winner. In order to enter, comment below with the yarn and beads you would use if you knit this pattern. You can get an additional entry by tweeting about the contest with a link to this page and then commenting to tell me that you tweeted it. Deadline is Wednesday May 23 at 7pm CST. At that time I will use a random number generator and pick the winner. The winner will receive the pattern either via Ravelry or e-mail as they prefer.

 

I look forward to seeing everyone’s finished shawls.

 

20 Responses to “Silver Bells and Cockle Shells Contest”

  1. Christine Says:

    I have a gorgeous skein of Mocha’s Fiber Designs Phoebe (Alpaca/Silk/Cashmere) in a soft pink that would look stunning in this. For beads…hmm…either a metallic pink, or clear lined with silver.

  2. HeatherOutsideBOS Says:

    I’m so glad you’ve published this gorgeous pattern, and I can hardly wait to make it! I’ve been holding two skeins of J Knits Lace-a-licious in a sage green called Pueblo, and I just saw unlined smoke colored beads are Fire Mountain that I think will be perfect. This will definitely be coming up to the top of my queue. Wishing you continued success.

  3. Levoton Says:

    I would use deep red Drops Lace. Perhaps same color beads? Beading is kind of new to me, so I just have to try what looks good.

  4. Hannah Says:

    I would use my new Misti Alpaca Lace yarn… such a lovely pattern! For beads something simple, perhaps a transparent light purple to match the yarn.

  5. Ruby Cruse Says:

    I would probably use a Madelinetosh TML or Pashmina. I think it would be lovely in one of her green colors with a blue gray bead. I think it would just be lovely.

    Rav:MzCruse

  6. Debra Says:

    I’d like to see this in some black lace weight with silver beads. I don’t have either in my stash so I’d have to do some shopping. I was looking at some black lace on WEBS site.

  7. karen monroe Says:

    I have a gradient being dyed in a butter cream to a light green. It is a merino, cashmere, silk base and I’m not sure on beads until I get my hands on the yarn. Karen

  8. Karen G. Says:

    It’s lovely. I have some gorgeous purple Malabrigo fingering silky merino, but I think I’d skip on the beads. It’s a beautiful pattern.

  9. Penni Says:

    I have 2 skeins of Harmony cobweb in blues to greens that would be excellent with this pattern, I am either going to use pearlescent white or a colbolt blue beads to accentuate the fantastic pattern! My soon to be DIL would love it for her wedding shawl!

  10. bluebunny Says:

    What an absolutely beautiful shawl! It caught my eye as I browsed recent additions to the rav database but seeing it here I am even more in love!

  11. bluebunny Says:

    Ahaha! I was so eager to comment on the beauty of your design I forgot about the contest, DUH! I love the combo of The Unique Sheep in Impressionist Sunrise and silver lined sapphire earthfaire beads.

  12. JessM Says:

    Ooh ooh! Pick meee!

    I have nothing appropriate in my stash so I would likely have to buy something. MadTosh Pashmina sounds wonderful or maybe even some Dublin Bay……something with cashmere! And silk! Oh my!

  13. shubhada soman Says:

    i have 1skein of the silkindians maharaja silk in a kinda green grey yellow with red beads for contrast you could see it here:)

  14. Janmaus Says:

    LOVE this pattern. I’m going to do it in white Zephyr with either crystal or silver beads. It reminds me of a moon garden, a pattern of flowers glowing softly in the dark.

  15. jenniferradcliff Says:

    I love this. I have some handspun merino that would be perfect for this.

  16. “What a beautiful shawl! I recently acquired a skein of Knit Picks Shadow lace in the dusty purple “Foxtrot” colorway. Paired with silver- or copper-lined glass beads, this would be really elegant and appropriate for both work and formal attire.”

    Comment by Lunathecat

  17. Hmmm, I’m thinking maybe some Berrocco Ultra Alpaca Fine and not sure about the beads. I’m open to suggestions though. It was great to meet you finally tonight! 🙂

  18. Amy Says:

    I would love to have the pattern,its gorgeous.I would use Madeline Tosh prairie lace in the Tart colorway.

  19. Linda N. Says:

    This is a fabulous design – I think it’s my favorite so far! I would use Manos Del Uruguay and beads by Twisted Sister!
    You inspire us all!

  20. Karen Novakoski Says:

    I have some cashmere smoochy in a light pink shade that I would use. I think plain pearl beads would make this gorgeous shawl just pop! Great pattern!


Leave a Reply

