mlemmonsdesigns

Beautiful designs for adventurous knitters

Frogging with beads June 3, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — mlemmonsdesigns @ 11:03 am
Tags: , , ,

Frogging is never fun. 

Worse is when it’s lace.

Even worse is lace with beads because as you pull out the yarn, the beads pop off and fly all over the room. Some will never be seen again and others will show up for the next five years in the cracks of the floor, edges of the sofa, your drink, etc. 

I am currently frogging about 20 rows of beaded lace with nupps. In order to control the spray of beads, I have put the lace into a large Ziploc bag and have mostly sealed the top. 

Image

Now, I can frog with impunity and all the beads will be nicely contained to be retrieved later and used again.

Speaking of beaded knitting, Fleegle just wrote a blog post about 4 different methods of attaching beads to knitting, including one that was new to me; guitar wire. Check it out!

If you are looking to make a beaded shawl, please consider Nouveau Beaded Capelet or Silver Bells and Cockle Shells. They are both beautiful shawls and fun knits. 

 

5 Responses to “Frogging with beads”

  1. julia christine stephen Says:

    I’m sure it will look beautiful, if you’re not out of your mind when it’s done, lol 🙂

  2. fleegle Says:

    From the little I can see, it looks stunning! And that’s an inspired idea. I shall use it next time I have to frog beaded knitting.

    Thanks for visiting my blog–your capelet inspired the post 🙂 And I just had a machinist make me a prototype beading hook that’s sort of like Verna’s, but actually works well on all yarns up to heavy laceweight. I am trying to get them made in quantity. I will send you one when I have some.

    • You’re welcome! I would love to see your new beading hook. I’m so excited by all the new tools that are being made.

      • fleegle Says:

        It should be ready to go in a month or so. I have to get the tubes and stoppers. There are two sizes and will be sold as a set. I’ll get back to you when I have them ready.


Leave a Reply

