mlemmonsdesigns

Beautiful designs for adventurous knitters

Oxygenate November 9, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — mlemmonsdesigns @ 2:57 pm
Tags: ,

(Movie announcer voice)

In a world covered by water, humans fight for survival. The polar ice caps have melted, leaving little dry land. Bio-engineered humans have adapted by incorporating gills into their anatomy. But what will they wear?

(resume normal voice)

GW11

When I saw Alex Tinsley’s call for patterns for a book of post-apocalypse patterns, I knew I had to be a part of it. I love doomsday movies and tv shows (Day after Tomorrow is one of my favorites) so I knew that the first step to creating a design for the book was to choose my end of the world scenario. I thought through the different possibilities and finally decided on global warming leading to a globe covered in water. I’d recently seen the movie Waterworld for the first time and while the story is weird and a bit thin, the costuming is great. I wanted to design something that would fit in that movie.

GW12

And thus was born Oxygenate. This laceweight tank is cool in the wasteland of water and sun, and stylishly accents the gills while allowing ease of movement, while the lace pattern mimics the scales of the fish these aquatic beings swim with. The gills are created with short rows and pleats in an alpaca yarn to give that frilly gill texture across the chest.

GW21

Oxygenate has plenty of positive ease, which, paired with the drapey fabric, makes this style flattering for a wide range of sizes and shapes. I can’t wait to make one of these for myself. Obviously, I will be a little less daring than the lovely model and will be wearing a camisole under mine.

For those who are interested, here are my original sketch and swatch. For those who don’t have a pair of leather pants or booty shorts just hanging out in the closet (this includes me), Oxygenate would also look great with a knee length A-line skirt or a pair of jeans.

sketch

oxygenate swatch 2

Oxygenate is knit with The Unique Sheep Chasca and Marici, both of which are AMAZING yarns. If I could only knit with Marici for the rest of my life, I’d be a very happy woman.

Doomsday Knits is available for pre-order now here, with digital delivery in December and print shortly after that. This book is an essential for all of the doomsday preppers, knitters, or fashionistas in your life. The next stop on the blog tour is back on Alex’s blog, Dull Roar.

(I apologize for how late my post is today. I have been working like a crazy woman for a craft fair that was today and had completely forgotten about writing my post after remembering multiple times that I needed to do it when I finally decided to go to bed at 2am)

 

Leave a Reply

